

# PLANNING, PROGRAM REVIEW AND OUTCOMES ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE A Standing Committee of the College Council

Wednesday, August 4, 2010, 8:30 a. m. to 10:00 a. m. N-5, As Terlaje Campus

#### **Minutes of Regular Meeting**

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

This meeting was called to quorum at approximately 8:45AM by Galvin Guerrero. Program Managers, Perry Inos and Keane Palacios, served as recorders.

#### II. ROLL CALL/ATTENDANCE

Quorum was established. Please refer to the attached attendance sheet.

#### III. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

1. Randal asked OIE to find who is designated for Records of Dialogue for the compliance matrix.

#### IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

- A. July 28, 2010 Regular Meeting Minutes
  - i. Moved by Dr. John G. and seconded by Barbara M.
  - ii. Motion carries

#### V. OLD BUSINESS

- A. Book Discussion: Core Indicators of Effectiveness for Community Colleges, 3<sup>rd</sup> Edition by Alfred, Shults, and Seybert (to be facilitated by Barbara Meralen)
  - a. Core 6 is what NMC is already doing.
    - i. Frequency of data collection
      - 1. Beginning and End of grading period
    - ii. Recommendation method
      - It is instructors determination to determine program outcomes

- 2. Course to course bases is determined by the department
- iii. Ultimate goal is how we are preparing the students for life after college.
- B. Cycle 2 of Program Review—Records of Dialogue update
  - i. Perry Stated that 78% have submitted.
    - Continue discussion to address Records of Dialogue recommendations to PROAC
- C. Cycle 3 of Program Review—update
  - i. Galvin stated that columns 4 & 5 have been slow in submission and OIE Delta Force had compliance visits with the following findings:
    - a. Group A&B
      - i. Workload
      - ii. Training
      - iii. Turn-over
    - b. Group C
      - i. Leadership
      - ii. Workload
      - iii. High turn-over
      - iv. Training
    - c. Group D
      - i. Leadership
      - ii. High turn-over
  - ii. MOTION:
    - a. To communicate PROAC's concerns to MGT and CC to how high turnover rates, constituency, continuity, and completion of deliverables be addressed.
    - b. Motion Carries
  - iii. Galvin will email postponement deadline to Campus Community

- A. PROAC prioritizing FY2011 Budgets Presentation by: Galvin (Chair)
  - ii. Programs Rank outcomes
    - o Value-driven
      - A. What outcomes are most important for our program?
    - Need-driven
      - A. Which outcomes need more attention in this next cycle?
    - o Performance-driven
      - A. Which outcomes we successfully achieve and want to spur on with additional resources
  - iii. Programs rank respective budget items
    - o Ranking matrix
      - A. Value
      - B. Need
      - C. Performance
  - iv. Programs score respective budget items
    - Scoring Matrix
      - A. Budget items with the highest scores rank highest
  - v. Programs must take ownership of the decision
- VII. OTHER MATTERS
  - A. Accreditation Update
- VIII. ADJOURNMENT
  - The meeting was adjourned at 10:11AM

## **PROAC**

## **Regular Meeting/Work Session**

Day: Wednesday Place: N-5 Date: 08/04/10 Time: 8:30AM to 10:00AM

### **SIGN-IN SHEET**

	NAME	TITLE	SIGN/INITIAL
1.	Galvin Guerrero	Director of Institutional Effectiveness (PROAC Chair)	PRESENT
2.	Daniel Kintol	Student/ASNMC Vice President/Acting ASNMC President	PRESENT
3.	Lorraine Cabrera	Interim NMC President	
4.	Barbara Merfalen	Dean, Academic Programs and Services	PRESENT
5.	Leo Pangelinan	Dean, Student Services	PRESENT
6.	Ross Manglona	Acting Dean, Community Programs and Services	
7.	Henry Hofschneider	Chief Financial and Administrative Officer	PRESENT (represented by Skep Palacios)
8.	Jennifer Barcinas/ Martin Mendiola	Staff Representative, Rota Instructional Site	PRESENT
9.	Maria Aguon/ Rose Lazarro	Staff Representative, Tinian Instructional Site	
10.		Faculty Representative, School of Education	
11.	Marian Tudela	Vice President of the Faculty Senate/ Permanent Proxy	
12.	Dean Papadopoulus	Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	
13.	Dr. John Griffin	Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	PRESENT
14.	Eric Johnson	Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	PRESENT
15.	James Kline	Faculty Representative, Academic Council	PRESENT
16.	Randall Nelson	Vice President of Staff Senate	PRESENT
		OTHERS PRESENT	
	Keane Palacios	Program Coordinator, OIE	PRESENT
	Perry Inos	Program Coordinator, OIE	PRESENT
	Lisa Hacskaylo	Institutional Researcher, OIE	PRESENT

Nelly Saturno		PRESENT
Ray Mafnas Muna	Program Coordinator, OIE	PRESENT
Ed Camacho	CJ, SSFA	PRESENT
Amanda Allen	IT/DLC	PRESENT