

PLANNING, PROGRAM REVIEW AND OUTCOMES ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE A Standing Committee of the College Council

Friday, March 11, 2011, 10:00 a. m. to 11:00 a. m. Rm, N-5, As Terlaje Campus

Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:23AM. Keane Palacios served as recorder.

II. ROLL CALL/ATTENDANCE

Quorum was established. Please see attendance sheet

III. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

IV. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

- A. March 3, 2011 Regular Meeting Minutes
 - Moved by Dr. Griffin and seconded by Matt Pastula
 - Motion Carries

V. OLD BUSINESS

A. Mission Statement Review

- Either than the President's Office mission. Rest of the missions have been reformatted to say what we do and how they do it in terms of student learning
- Cycle 1: program mission in Form 1s not required, but was required for Cycle 2
- Have
- Moved by Dr. Griffin and seconded by Matt Pastula
- Motion Carries
- B. Linking Program Review to FY 2012 Budgeting and Resource Allocation (Refer to NACUBO article, "Keeping Programs and Resources in Sync" by Victoria F. Payseur)

- Work from the revised Form 2 will feed into this
- C. Cycle 4 of Program Review
 - Compliance Matrix—Update
 - Keane Palacios to submit an update and also for Records of Dialogue
 - Form 2 Committee—Update
 - Lisa: mapping: Program Learning Outcomes need to be mapped to Gen Ed Outcomes
 - James Kline is handling that, but is trying to find someone to take ownership
 - o Bobbie: might appoint someone to push those forward
 - o Will meet with APS leadership about this
 - Mapping outcomes to priority initiatives
 - o Credentials and trainings, we should present these
 - Matrix
 - What's coming out is linking faculty effectiveness
 - o The Form 2 is not getting shorter, but bigger
 - o Galvin: we can maybe use Google forms
 - o Randall: upload Form 2
 - Having history of programs in the appendix
 - Mapping PLO/SLO to courses
 - Table for instructor's workload
 - Adding programs/bodies/offices back on to the Form 1 compliance matrix
 - Staff Senate
 - Clarice approves
 - Experience: last time to submit Form 1 was March 2009
 - Submission based on Constitution
 - Not sure why we stopped submitting
 - Galvin: we can improve your submission
 - IP: President's Office and the Board of Regents should be included

- The President should not be a voting member
- o Larry: the President's Office is an administrative unit
- Faculty Senate: support of putting the governance bodies back
 - Maybe have their separate category
 - Form 1 may not be the right instrument
- Leo: Office of the Dean of Student Services
 - It is appropriate for the office to be included
 - Need a mechanism to keep him in check
- o Bobbi: Office of the Dean of APS
 - Agrees to have a Form 1 for each of the 2 areas:
 Dean's Office and Academic Council
- Recommendations from 2010 Composite Report

VI. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Recommendations from the Governance Review Task Force
 - College Council to endorse PROAC's presentation on budgeting and planning based on the Drake concept and task BAFC and PROAC to develop procedures to move that forward.
 - PROAC and BAFC to create
 - Moved by Dr. Griffin
 - Motion Carries
- VII. OTHER MATTERS
- VIII. What impact did today's dialogue and/or work have on student learning?
- IX. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05AM

PROAC

Regular Meeting/Work Session

Date: 03/11/11 Day: Friday Time: 10:00AM to 11:00AM

Place: N5

ATTENDANCE SHEET

	NAME	TITLE	SIGN/INITIAL
1.	Galvin Guerrero	Director of Institutional Effectiveness (PROAC Chair)	PRESENT
2.	Antonio Tiples	Student (Appointed by ASNMC)/ASNMC Vice President	
3.	Lorraine Cabrera	Interim NMC President	
4.	Barbara Merfalen (Joe Peters served as a proxy)	Dean of Academic Programs and Services	PRESENT
5.	Leo Pangelinan	Dean, Student Services	PRESENT
6.	Dave Attao	Acting Dean, Community Programs an Services	nd
7.	Dawn Chrystal Revilla	Acting, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer	PRESENT
8.	Jennifer Barcinas/ Martin Mendiola	Staff Representative, Rota Instructional Site	al PRESENT
9.	Maria Aguon/ Rose Lazarro	Staff Representative, Tinian Instructional Site	
10.	John Jenkins	Faculty Representative, School of Education	PRESENT
11.	Dr. John Griffin	Vice President of the Faculty Senate	PRESENT
12.		Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	
13.	Dr. Eric Belky	Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	
14.	Matt Pastula	Faculty Member (Appointed by Faculty Senate)	PRESENT
15.	James Kline	Faculty Representative, Academic Council	
16.	Randall Nelson	Vice President of the Staff Senate	PRESENT
OTHERS PRESENT			
	Keane Palacios	PM, OIE	PRESENT
	Ray Mafnas Muna	PC, OIE	PRESENT
	Lisa Hacskaylo	IR, OIE	PRESENT
	Amanda Allen	IT Dept.	PRESENT